Shooting first shoot.

So the major thing I learned with this Camera Controls assignment is that you NEED to be familiar with your camera. Before going out to shoot, knowing where all the controls are and how to properly function them is so important. You will waste so much time while out on location, when you’re trying to understand how to set the f-stop and ISO settings, etc. I speak on this from experience. The day I went to shoot these photos, I had just gotten the camera I took these photos on and the settings were a little different than those of the previous camera I had been using. Had I taken a look at the camera, played around with it and found all the manual functions, I would have saved about 30 – 45 minutes of me and my subject standing around trying to figure out how to adjust the f-stop.

Another thing that I learned is that you have to take multiple photos. Although I only needed to produce 10 for the sake of this assignment, I shot way more. At first, yes I did think I would go out and shoot about 10-20 photos and chose 10, but in all actuality I shot a total of 43 photographs. It amazed me because even after shooting those 43 photographs, I still had a hard time selecting which ones looked great, which angles were good and which photos matched the shot list… because at one point, I was out there just shooting whatever looked nice through my viewfinder.

I think the hardest thing about this assignment for me were trying to understand all the shots and how they are supposed to look. I found myself looking up on google how to shoot stopped action or panned photos. Being that this assignment was kind of my first real experience behind the camera as far as photography, I think I did an okay job. I know that there will very many improvements in my photography skills in time to come.

The main thing I grasped from this assignment is that photojournalism is not just going out and taking pictures. Well, it is but it isn’t. There is structure to photojournalism and one of the more important this is being prepared!


 

Leave a comment